Oranges for Orioles

For the last couple of years I have been putting out slices of oranges in my yard in the hopes of attracting Baltimore Orioles or Gray Catbirds.  I place the oranges on my tray feeder and in suet cages.  So far this has attracted only ants.  Last Friday morning, I thought that perhaps the heavy rain might force some migrants down, so I put out two fresh orange halves on a flower planter.  Within a half hour of arriving home in the afternoon, I looked out to see this bird feeding on the orange.

This first-year Baltimore Oriole stayed around the yard for two days, feeding on all the oranges, including the ones in the suet cage that I had placed there about two weeks before.

So if you want to see a Baltimore Oriole in your yard, putting out oranges really does work.  Now I’m just waiting for that Catbird.

Posted by Bob Lefebvre

7 thoughts on “Oranges for Orioles

  1. Congrats on your persistence and success. We were surprised by Baltimore Orioles arriving at our hummingbird feeder two years ago. http://twitpic.com/5j97r We’ve not had them arrive again, but this year we have an orange slice out in hopes of having them show up again.

    • Baltimore Orioles nest in the river valleys so you usually see them along the Bow or Elbow River, from mid-May to mid-September. They are not too common but you can usually find them at the Inglewood Bird Sanctuary, in the parts Fish Creek Park along the river, and in the Weaselhead area. I saw three today in Fish Creek Park. It seems that they spend a lot of time high in deciduous trees. Listen for their beautiful flutelike song.

      I live about a mile from the river, so this one was just passing through on migration. I think you could see them anywhere in Calgary during migration.

    • I’ve also tried putting out grape jelly, but magpies and squirrels like it and it disappears very quickly. Next time I have an Oriole here I’ll put some out.

  2. The Yellow-bellied Sapsucker woodpeckers also love the grape jelly. No squirrels or magpies have touched it; I guess I’m lucky!

    MJ

Leave a Reply

